Florida Coalition to Prevent Gun Violence Issues Remembrance Statement Marking 5 Years Since Pulse Nightclub Massacre


(Orlando, FL) The Florida Coalition to Prevent Gun Violence issued this statement marking five years since the horrific Pulse Nightclub Massacre that took place on June 12, 2016.

“June is Pride month and our coalition of over 100 organizations stand in solidarity with all members of the LGBTQ+ community.  Unfortunately, June is also known for an unspeakable crime that targeted members of the Orlando LGBTQ+ and Latinx community, where a hateful lone gunman using military-style assault weapons murdered 49 innocent people and injured another 53.  Our hearts continue to be broken for the friends and loved ones of the victims and survivors, whose lives have been forever changed by this tragedy.

Oftentimes, as the years move on, the names and faces of those killed in massacres, like Pulse, can fade.   As we reflect on the five-year remembrance, we want to remind folks of the names of the people killed on June 12, 2016, and our pledge to continue honoring them with action in Florida and nationwide:

Stanley Almodovar III
Amanda Lizzette Alvear
Oscar A. Aracena Montero
Rodolfo Ayala Ayala
Antonio “Tony” Brown
Darryl Roman Burt II
Angel Candelario-Padro
Juan Chavez Martinez
Luis D. Conde
Cory James Connell
Tevin Eugene Crosby
Deonka “Dee Dee” Drayton
Simón Adrian Carrillo Fernández
Leroy Valentin Fernandez
Mercedez Marisol Flores
Peter Ommy Gonzalez Cruz
Juan Ramon Guerrero
Paul Terrell Henry
Frank Hernandez
Miguel Angel Honorato
Javier Jorge Reyes
Jason Benjamin Josaphat
Eddie Jamal Droy Justice
Anthony Luis Laureano Disla
Christopher Andrew Leinonen
Alejandro Barrios Martinez
Brenda Marquez McCool
Gilberto R. Silva Menendez
Kimberly Jean Morris
Akyra Monet Murray
Luis Omar Ocasio Capo
Gerardo A. Ortiz Jimenez
Eric Ivan Ortiz-Rivera
Joel Rayon Paniagua
Jean C. Mendez Perez
Enrique L. Rios Jr.
Jean Carlos Nieves Rodríguez
Xavier Emmanuel Serrano Rosado
Christopher Joseph Sanfeliz

Yilmary Rodríguez Solivan
Eddie Sotomayor Jr.
Shane Evan Tomlinson
Martin Benitez Torres
Jonathan A. Camuy Vega
Juan Pablo Rivera Velázquez
Luis Sergio Vielma
Franky Jimmy DeJesus Velázquez
Luis Daniel Wilson-Leon
Jerry Wright

Our Coalition was formed the day after the Pulse shooting as we called on the former Governor and leaders of the Legislature to hold a special session to address senseless gun violence like the Pulse shooting.  For the last five years, bills to ban weapons of war and strengthen background checks, led by sponsors Representative Carlos Guillermo Smith and Senator Gary Farmer, still have not received a hearing. 

Nevertheless, we continue to honor those lives lost at Pulse with our unwavering commitment to fight against hate and fight for strong gun laws that will help to protect all of Florida’s communities from gun violence.”

# # #


The Florida Coalition to Prevent Gun Violence was co-founded by the League of Women Voters of Florida and The Campaign to Keep Guns Off Campus to promote evidence-based gun safety legislation after the Pulse Nightclub shooting in 2016. It has grown to include more than 100 local, state, and national organizations and includes such diverse groups as the Florida PTA, Equality Florida, the National Council of Jewish Women, March for Our Lives,  and the Southern Poverty Law Center.

Share this article...

Connect with us!

Keep up with what's going on & join the conversation on social media

Web Design in Orlando by CREATE180 Design